Apr 102013

KARACHI: Asmavia Iqbal steered ZTBL to a nine-wicket triumph against HEC in their 8th National Women’s Cricket Championship Zone A match at the Bagh-e-Jinnah Ground in Lahore.

HEC never got going after batting first and were all out for 57 in 32 overs with Asmavia being the destroyer-in-chief with three wickets. Ayesha Qazi and Areeba Ahsan managed 18 apiece in an otherwise disappointing performance by the HEC side.

Asmavia then top-scored with an unbeaten 32 with four boundaries that took ZTBL past the finish line in 13.3 overs, while skipper Sana Mir remained not out on 21.

The other match of the group also turned out to be a low-scoring affair as Lahore thrashed Multan by nine wickets at the Ittefaq Cricket Ground.

Set an easy target of 81, Multan raced to the total for the loss of one wicket in 14.1 overs as Farah Naeem (31) starred with the bat.

Earlier, Multan were bundled out for 80 in 24.2 overs as Namra Imran and Shumaila Fakharuddin claimed two wickets each. Sadia Sadiq made 16 while Gulnaz Majeed scored 15.

In Zone B, the match between Islamabad and Bahawalpur was washed out due to overnight rain.

In another game, Sialkot defeated Hyderabad by five wickets in a 35-over affair at the Muridke Cricket Club.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 11th, 2013.

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




Get Adobe Flash player