Mar 122017
Bahawalpur, Sialkot, Hyderabad record comprehensive wins

KARACHI: Bahawalpur, Sialkot and Hyderabad recorded victories inside two days in their second round matches of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Grade-II on Sunday. On the second day of their three-day match, Bahawalpur romped to their second successive win when they demolished minnows Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) by an innings and 81 runs. Sialkot defeated Larkana by 10 wickets. Hyderabad beat Dera Murad Jamali by eight wickets. Bahawalpur added to their points tally with a huge win over little known AJK in a Group A outing, at the Dring Stadium, Bahawalpur, to brighten their semi-finals chances. Having conceded a 197 runs lead, AJK perished for only 116 in their second innings. Abdul Shakoor (35) and Usman Maroof (25) were the prominent batsmen. Imranullah Aslam got 5-17, while Mohammad Imran captured 4-65. Earlier, in response to AJK’s first innings total of 143 all out, Bahawalpur resumed their first innings at 168-1 and piled up 340-9 in their 83 overs of the first innings. Adeel Basit hit unbeaten 132 off 222 balls, striking nine fours. Mudassir Nazir blasted superb 107 off 178 balls with 13 hits to the fence. Salman Irshad and Shadab Majeed got three wickets each. In another outing of the group, at Multan Stadium, Sialkot tamed Larkana with an enviable ease to open their account with nine points. After conceding 230 runs lead, Larkana were folded for 233 in their second innings, which set only four runs target for Sialkot who scored it in three overs without any loss. In [Read More…]