Jul 152017

ISLAMABAD: In an anticipated move, the federal government on Saturday introduced major changes in tax machinery, removing almost all those officers from their positions who could not achieve their assigned targets during the last fiscal year.

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) notified transfers and postings of one and half dozen officers in grades 22, 21 and 20.

Among the notable changes was the transfer of Member Inland Revenue Operations Rehmatullah Wazir, who has now been appointed as Member Taxpayers Audit.

The member Inland Revenue is responsible for almost 90 per cent of total tax collection.

Wazir’s place has been filled in by Khawaja Tanveer Ahmad, who was serving as Director General at the Directorate of Intelligence and Investigation IR.

FBR proposes increase in minimum tax on firms, individuals

Shad Mehmood has been appointed as new DG intelligence and Investigation.

However, Tanveer is to retire in February next year — four months before the end of the fiscal year.

The government has already appointed Tariq Pasha as the new FBR Chairman.

The changes were introduced after the FBR missed its annual collection target by about Rs250 billion. Against the target of Rs3.621 trillion, the FBR collected less than Rs3.37 trillion.

Nonetheless, the FBR had blamed that the finance ministry determined fiscal and administrative policies that led to the failure.

However, the Chief Commissioner Islamabad Large Taxpayer Unit has not been changed despite him also missing his target.

PAF hits out at FBR for freezing bank accounts

The government has appointed Tasneem Rehman, a grade 22 officer, as FBR administration member. It has appointed Nausheen Javaid Amjad as member Facilitation and Taxpayers Education by transferring her from the position of Member Information Technology.

Khawaja Adnan Zaheer has been appointed as new member Information Technology. He was earlier serving as chief commissioner Regional Tax Office, Lahore.

Syed Ayaz Mehmood, Chief Commissioner LTU Karachi, has been removed from his position and placed on a ceremonial post of DG Special Initiatives. Seema Shakil has been brought at his place in Karachi LTU.

Mahbooba Razaq has been appointed as new Chief Commissioner RTO Rawalpindi in place of Tanveer Akhtar. Akhtar is new Director General of Broadening of Tax base, which is now a ceremonial post.

Mohammad Akram Khan is new Chief Commissioner RTO Faisalabad. Naheed Azhar has been made Chief Commissioner Hyderabad.

The post Elusive targets trigger major reshuffle in FBR appeared first on The Express Tribune.

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Get Adobe Flash player