Apr 212013

Monday, April 22, 2013
From Print Edition

PTI dist chief, others join PML-N


From Our Correspondent


CHAKWAL: The Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf district president along with other officer-bearers has quit the party and joined the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.


Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf district president Rizwan Akram and other party office-bearers made the announcement in a meeting presided over by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz district leader Lt-Gen (retd) Abdul Qayyum here on Sunday. Speaking on the occasion, Naeem Akram, the brother of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf district president Rizwan Akram, and vice-president Labiba Iffat said that Imran Khan had promised to award tickets to them but he allegedly did not fulfill his promise.


Naeem Akram said that he along with his brother enrolled more than 27,000 members in the district but the party tickets were awarded to those people, who had recently joined the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf. He said that he had applied for the party ticket for NA-60, but the PTI awarded a ticket to another candidate.


PML-N leader Abdul Qayyum welcomed the new entrants and assured that due respect and honour would be given to them. He said that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief and former prime minister Nawaz Sharif was the only leader, who could steer the country out of crisis. Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Tahir Iqbal said that the party workers would be given due respect. He appealed to the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz workers to launch the election campaign as 20 days were left in the general elections. Ziaul Hassan Zaidi, Malik Mohiuddin, M Akram, Raja Sajid Iqbal, Shahid Abbasi, Sheikh Zafar Hassan and others, in their addresses, vowed to support the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidates in the district. They claimed that the PML-N candidates would win all six seats of the district with big margins.


Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




Get Adobe Flash player