Mar 122017

KARACHI: Bahawalpur, Sialkot and Hyderabad recorded victories inside two days in their second round matches of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Grade-II on Sunday.

On the second day of their three-day match, Bahawalpur romped to their second successive win when they demolished minnows Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) by an innings and 81 runs.

Sialkot defeated Larkana by 10 wickets. Hyderabad beat Dera Murad Jamali by eight wickets.

Bahawalpur added to their points tally with a huge win over little known AJK in a Group A outing, at the Dring Stadium, Bahawalpur, to brighten their semi-finals chances.

Having conceded a 197 runs lead, AJK perished for only 116 in their second innings. Abdul Shakoor (35) and Usman Maroof (25) were the prominent batsmen.

Imranullah Aslam got 5-17, while Mohammad Imran captured 4-65. Earlier, in response to AJK’s first innings total of 143 all out, Bahawalpur resumed their first innings at 168-1 and piled up 340-9 in their 83 overs of the first innings.

Adeel Basit hit unbeaten 132 off 222 balls, striking nine fours. Mudassir Nazir blasted superb 107 off 178 balls with 13 hits to the fence. Salman Irshad and Shadab Majeed got three wickets each.

In another outing of the group, at Multan Stadium, Sialkot tamed Larkana with an enviable ease to open their account with nine points. After conceding 230 runs lead, Larkana were folded for 233 in their second innings, which set only four runs target for Sialkot who scored it in three overs without any loss.

In response to Sialkot’s first innings total of 392-8, Larkana began their first innings at 55-2 and were forced to follow on when they perished for 162 with Abdul Rehman and Mohammad Irfan taking four wickets each for Sialkot.

After the follow-on, Larkana were bundled out in their second innings for 233. Mohammad Urs scored 84 with 14 fours. Asif Babar made 50 and Aamir Panwar 40. Experienced spinner Mansoor Amjad got 5-33.

Hyderabad, who lost to Abbottabad in their first game, overcame DM Jamali by eight wickets at Niaz Stadium, Hyderabad.

In response to DM Jamali’s first innings total of 141, Hyderabad started the day at 99-6 and were bowled out for 206, claiming a 65 runs lead. Nauman Ali scored 66 not out. Mir Darya Khan (45) and Nasir Awais (39) were the other notable contributors. Aftab Ahmed got 4-106.

DM Jamali were then bowled out for 111 in their second innings, which set 47 runs target for Hyderabad, who achieved it in the ninth over after losing two wickets.

Here at National Stadium, Abbottabad gained 96 runs lead, when they restricted Quetta to 348-9 in their 83-over first innings, having scored 444-2 in their first innings.

Quetta began the second day at 25 without loss. Taimur Khan blasted unbeaten 114 with ten fours and a six. Hamal Wahab made 41 not out with eight fours and a six. Ahmed Jamal, Kamran Ghulam, Fawad Malook and Salman Saeed got two wickets each. Abbottabad were 29-2 in their second innings, having a lead of 125.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>